Additional Project: Vertical shooter: Graphics and Art:

These are my early development sketches for my vertical shooter project. I explored the possibility of various scenarios in brief but ultimately  settled on space. I thought Spaced had a lot of potential for enemy design and hazards. But I opted to go with a simple setting, the player works for a company that removes asteroids from star systems to reduce hazards.

img012

Starting with some scenarios and ship designs to help establish the setting.

img013

These sketches (above) where considering different setting for the vertical shooter such as on the ground or in the water. It was shortly after this that I decided to set it in space, with asteroids as the targets.

img015 img016 img017

After deciding to go with the space setting I draw up some ship designs. Starting with some more organic looking ones with lots of curves and rounded parts. I also drew some more industrial ships using straight edges and primitive shapes.

img014 img020

These drawings were designs for the HUD elements one was considering the placement of them on screen. The other was focusing more on the design and details of these elements. I wanted it to look like a dashboard with lots of buttons and switches.

img019 img021

these final sketches where for the image on the start and game over screens. these were

The Next few pictures the Actual graphics used in the game.

Ship 4Menu Pic

This is the player’s ship as seen in the game. I opted for the more industrial look to reflect it’s part in a company. The image on the right is the one featured in the title screen of the game.

Countersheild bar Radio 2

These images are of the HUD’s final design. the left part is the score counter with a Ac vent and calculator. The right side is the radio with a CD tray and controls.

 

Asteroid 3

This is the asteroid I made for the game. I was going to add a grey one to the game for variety but couldn’t figure out the coding to do it.

Game Over Pic

 

This is the image used for the game over screen. Depicting the remains of the player been detected by a large unseen ship of the same corporation.

 

 

Leave a comment